Weekend Hamradio..

Sometimes you do get amazed by in what mysterious ways that nature works. This weekend has been on of those times when I get that “wow”-feeling while at the rig. One of my fascinations about this hobby is just the “nature” part of communicating with distance stations, the way we use nature and natural phenomenons to reach distance places. Combined with transmitting with low output power the fascination is, at least for me, complete.

As a preparation for the SSMS, Swedish Lakes activity, I have been working some JT9 with my FT-817 this weekend, letting the  IC-7410 rest in the shack. I just LOVE working the WSJT-modes with the FT-817 and QRP which makes it bit more of a challenge sometimes, especially when working JT65 on the more popular bands. While making some sporadic CQ:s on the 20m JT9 section I got a respons, and I did have to look twice to be sure,  from a YF3-station (Indonesia)! That is some 11200 km distance and with a nice reception report aswell! My setup was only 4-5 W into a (for the 20m-band tuned) GP-1500 vertical. Well, this was really a “Wow” for me! 🙂

As I am using the PSKreporter service quite frequently during my activity it’s even more intriguing to see this response for just airing your call for a couple of hours… 🙂

20m jt9Ham radio  really is a “World wide Hobby” in a sense..  😉

This weekend seems to have good propagations, especially towards the east of the US and east of Canada. For some reason the Canadian stations are generally hard to come by unless they are located in the eastern part, near the US.

73 de SM7VRZ, Anders

Leave a Reply

