Evening pleasures..

Today, Monday, has been a day of from work for me. The day of was much needed because I’ve been struck by the flue, as the last one in my family. The worst is over but the constant headache isn’t  really helping my creative side for the article I’m about to publish here on the blog. All that fact finding requires a somewhat clear head to work. I decided however to fight the pain and try to work some JT9 QRP style with my portable setup.

To work QRP with digimodes is one of my favorite activities as it gives you a disadvantage towards all the QRO (read 30W +) stations. The fact is that even if I’m not working with my FT-817ND and using the 100W station, I often rarely go over 20W in output power. There is also a great satisfaction and thrill that you get when knowing you worked a far away station with a low output power. 🙂

DSC_0798Another reason to work with the portable kit was to trim the use of the software’s and arrange the different program windows for optimum use.  The evenings activity on the 20 m band resulted in mostly European stations but my signals was heard in the US as far away as Michigan, New Jersey and even Iowa. Not bad for 5W.. 🙂

73 de SM7VRZ

Leave a Reply

