Project digimode QRP portable, the first steps…

Today it’s saturday and I have actually nothing planned this weekend. Therefore I decided to startup one of this years projects, my QRP Portable digimode project. The goal with this project is to have a working solution for working digimodes (JT65/9 and PSK31/63) portable with my FT-817ND.  I’ve been giving this project some thought earlier and the other day I got some more inspiration when I got a new follower on the blog. VK1NAM, Andrew is a Australian Ham with an interest in SOTA, Summit on the air, which I think is something that I also would enjoy doing.  Not only is the project a reason to utilize my FT-817, it´s also a good excuse for getting out more! 🙂

Do check out Andrews blog here on WordPress with interesting posts and beautiful photos from his SOTA activations. I do hope to visit “down under” some day as both me and my fianceé would like to explore Australia. 🙂

So, back to the project. I started to collect some useful gear from the hidings in the basement. Through the years I’ve collected some stuff that may come in handy one day. When the search was over I got the following idea on how my “portable kit” could look like:

  • Portable HF antenna for 30m or 40m, 20m and maybe 10m. Andrews portable gear have given me some inspiration for a linked dipole construction.
  • An MFJ-901B manual tuner, if necessary.
  • The FT-817ND (naturally)
  • An old Acer Aspire One, lite notebook computer which I’ve been using before with my “traveling kit” setup. This computer already have the necessary software installed but is maybe a little slow for JT65/9 with WSJTX. The upside is that it´s small and light.
  • The Signalink USB interface for use with the computer and transceiver.
  • A small 12V 7,2Ah lead battery which should supply enough power to the FT-817ND and the computer ( both the transceivers and the notebooks internal batteries is depleted). The power solution should give at least some hours of operation.

That seems like a good starting point for creating a kit!

Now it´s time to build it all together and try it out!  🙂

73

de SM7VRZ

Leave a Reply

